Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Search the Collections

An introduction to the materials available in Clark University's Archives and Special Collections.

Where can I search for Archives and Special Collections materials?

All Special Collections materials are for in-library use only.  You can visit us on the first floor of the Robert H. Goddard Library to use any materials in the Archives and Special Collections offices.  

  • Most of our print book holdings are available in the Library Catalog.
  • Dissertations and theses written by Clark students are viewable in the Library Catalog. You may also find recent publications on Proquest.
  • Personal papers and manuscripts are available by individual finding aid on the Digital Commons.
  • University archives are not listed online.  
  • Additional ephemera, including Scarlets, Pasticcios, Academic Catalogues, Alumni Directories and more are not listed online, although we hold copies of almost every edition of each. 

Special Collections Locations

Goddard Library Special Collections Stacks - all items shelved in Special Collections

Goddard Library Special Collections: E. Forbes - items by and in the collection of Esther Forbes. 

Goddard Library Special Collections: Faculty - books by Clark faculty since the founding of the university

Goddard Library Special Collections: Jonas Clark - incunabula, early printed books, and old and rare texts from the Jonas Clark collection

Goddard Library Special Collections: K. Arndt - books collected by Karl J. Arndt (1903-1991), Professor of German. 490 books and pamphlets which Arndt called the "War, Political, Historical and Exile Literature Library" 

Goddard Library Special Collections: L. H. Dodd - books collected by Loring Holmes Dodd, mostly on artists, performers, and authors who visited Clark for Dodd's Fine Arts Program

Goddard Library Special Collections: O. H. Prouty - books by Olive Higgins Prouty, Worcester novelist and poet

Goddard Library Special Collections: R. H. Goddard - books by, about, or owned by Robert H. Goddard, modern rocketry pioneer

Using Finding Aids

A finding aid is a document containing information and inventories related to a specific collection.  It's the first thing you should consult before visiting an Archive.

Using Finding Aids:

  1. Read the scope and contents, biography, abstract, and other introductory contents.  Although collections follow certain standards, each archive of material is likely organized in a different way, and this introduction will help you navigate the inventory.
  2. Check for any restrictions -- are there any items you will need special permission to view? Are there rules about copying or photography?
  3. Review the inventory.  Note the box number and folder title for items you are interested in viewing.  
    Note: the inventory is usually broken down into a series.  Each series (and subseries) will contain a specific group of materials, like correspondence or photographs.  These can help you to navigate a long or complex finding aid!
  4. Make an appointment to view the materials in person.

Finding Aids @Digital Commons