LibGuides: Archives and Special Collections: Digital Collections

The Robert H. Goddard Digital Collection

The Robert H. Goddard Digital Collection is found here and contains digital versions of our large holdings of Goddard's papers and memorabilia. The collection includes:

Notebooks, 1903-1939, with digital transcriptions. Notes and recordings of his research.
Diaries,1898-1945, with digital transcriptions. Goddard kept a diary nearly every day of his life, besides during his honeymoon.
Newsclippings, 1904-1948. About Goddard and his work, including info about grants and projects
Papers, 3 volumes. Compiled and bound by Esther Goddard.

Highlights

Goddard's added diary entry from March 17, 1926, after the first successful launch of the liquid-fueled rocket in Auburn, MA.

The Pasticcio

Copies of the Pasticcio are found here, with editions from 1925-current. You may access some earlier editions in person too, but these are too fragile to be digitized at this time.

The first Clark yearbook was published in 1905, called The Pioneer. Later, the June edition of The Clark Monthly replaced the annual yearbook. It was eventually named The Pasticcio and was published annually in May or June.

Highlights

Pasticcios contain a wealth of information, including clubs, graduating students, and class histories.

Finding Aids

The Finding Aid collection provides guides to our various special collections materials. Browse these finding aids while preparing your research plan and then visit us to access the material!

Finding Aids

The Karl J. R. Arndt Collection
Karl J. R. Arndt (1903-1991) was a Professor of German at Clark University from 1950 to 1991.
The Wallace W. Atwood Papers
Wallace W. Atwood (1872-1949) was a geographer, geologist, and President of Clark University.
Ben H. Bagdikian Papers and Manuscripts
Ben Bagdikian (1920-2016) graduated from Clark University in 1941 before becoming a journalist and renowed media critic.
The George Hubbard Blakeslee Papers
George Hubbard Blakeslee (1871-1954) taught history and international relations at Clark University from 1903 until his retirement in 1943.
The Saul B. Cohen Papers
Saul B. Cohen (b. 1925) was a Professor of Geography and Director of the Graduate School of Geography from 1965 to 1979.
The Esther Forbes Papers
Esther Forbes (1891-1967) was an American novelist and author of Johnny Tremain (1943). She received an honorary degree from Clark University in 1943.
The G. Stanley Hall Papers
G. Stanley Hall (1846-1924) was a psychologist and educator, and the first president of Clark University.
The Howard B. Jefferson Papers
Howard B. Jefferson (1901-1983) served as third President of Clark University between 1946 and 1967.
The Stanley Kunitz-Stockmal Collection
Stanley Kunitz (1905-2006) was the tenth poet laureate of the United States. The Stockmal family, who eventually lived in Kunitz' childhood home in Worcester, became close friends with him and collected photographs and notes throughout his life.
The Milton Lehman Papers
Milton Lehman (1917-1966) was a free-lance writer, contributing about 250 articles to national magazines such as Saturday Evening Post, Life, Reader’s Digest, McCall’s, Look, The York Times, and other periodicals, books and newspapers,
The Leah and Samuel Levenson Papers
Leah and Samuel Levenson (d. 2000, 1977) were journalists and biographers who wrote primarily on Irish men and women.
The Olive Higgins Prouty Papers
Olive Higgins Prouty (1882-1972) was a novelist and poet most known for Stella Dallas (1922) and Now, Voyager (1941).
The Percy Roope Papers
Percy M. Roope was a Professor of Physics at Clark University from 1921 to 1967. He assisted Robert H. Goddard.
The Achille J. St. Onge Papers
Achille St. Onge (1913-1978) was a publisher of miniature books.
The Papers of Samuel Van Valkenburg
Samuel Van Valkenburg (1890-1976) was a Professor of Georgraphy and Climatology at Clark University from 1926 to 1976.
The John Kirtland Wright Papers
John Kirtland Wright (1891-1969) was a former librarian, director, and chronicler of the American Geographical Society.