Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Home

An introduction to the materials available in Clark University's Archives and Special Collections.

COVID-19 - At this time, the Archives and Special Collections at Clark University is closed to the public.  If you have a research request, please contact Archives@clarku.edu for assistance.  Thank you for your patience as we plan for reopening.

Review our current plans for Reopening here.

Archives and Special Collections
at Goddard Library


Welcome to Clark University's Archives and Special Collections at the Robert H. Goddard Library.  We are the repository for approximately 7,000 linear feet of rare books, manuscripts, and other materials.

Regular hours are Monday-Friday from 9:00 A.M. - 4:00 P.M. and by appointment. We are closed on weekends and many holidays. It is advisable to call or email before traveling here.

You can contact us at archives@clarku.edu or 508-793-7206.


Postcard depicting Jonas Clark Hall and the Science Building.

Contact Us

EMAIL: archives@clarku.edu

PHONE: (508) 793-7206

The Archives and Special Collections area is located on the ground floor of the Robert H. Goddard Library. For those traveling to the campus, the library is located on Downing Street in Worcester and is easily found on the Clark University campus map.

FAQ

Where are you?

The Archives are located on the ground floor of the Goddard Library, off the Academic Commons.  We're on the south side of the building, behind the Escort desk.

Can I check out materials and use them outside of the Archives?

No, you will need to use the material in the Archives office. Our materials do not circulate.

Can I use my phone camera to scan pages of the book I will be using?

Yes, as long as you do not use a flash.

Do you have a copier I can use?

Yes. I charge 25 cents a page for copying.

Can I use the Rare Book Room as a study area?

I'm afraid not. The Rare Book Room is used for meetings and programs of the Friends of Goddard Library and other special events.  But do come by and I will be happy to show it to you.

Can I see the records of someone who had attended Clark in past years, like a grandfather?

I am not allowed to show the records of someone who is still alive to another person.  If the person you are interested in has died, I would need to see some record of that, like an obituary, before showing the materials.

Do you have all the dissertations and theses that were written at Clark?

We have most of them. Before the Archives were established in 1972, all theses and dissertations were in the circulating collection of the University library and some were borrowed and never returned.  Because the University has only this one copy, we do not lend out MA or PhD theses and they must be used here.

An image of a puffin, facing to the left.

John James Audubon's seven volumes of "The Birds of America", 1840-1844

Book of Hours, 1423

The Book that Went to the Moon, an autobiography of Robert H. Goddard, bound by Achille St Onge

Albert A. Michelson's interferometer. Michelson was the first American to win a Nobel Prize in Physics.