If you are having technical problems please fill out the Discovery Feedback form or fill out the Report a Problem form on the resource you are trying to access.
If you are having trouble finding the materials you need, we recommend setting up an appointment with a librarian. The librarian can walk through your research with you and troubleshoot using Discovery.
Book an appointment here.
You are able to access and use Discovery when you are off campus however, whenever you use Discovery we recommend logging in with your Clark credentials. Discovery may limit results if you do not log in and verify you are affiliated with Clark.
You can find the Log In button on the top right of the Results page: 
While Discovery does search most of our databases, ebook collections, journal collections and the library catalog, it does not search all of our databases. Some databases to note that can NOT be searched using Discovery include, IBIS World, PrivCo, PolicyMap and SciFinder.
You can view the full list of databases available and access them on our A-Z Database list.
If the full text of an item is not available you can request the material through Interlibrary Loan. Keep in mind this service can only provide chapters from a book or ebook, a copy of a physical book or a journal article. You will not be able to request a complete ebook.
Find the Interlibrary Loan Request form here.
Discovery offers several limiters and facets to refine your search. They can be found on the left hand side of the Results page. Also check out the Advanced Search options, where you can select additional filters or change your search field so you are searching by Author or Series title.
Yes! Filters will apply to future searches in that session. You can either select the "x" to individually remove a filter or select "Clear all".
The best way to save your search history is to log in with your Clark credentials. This will save the search details to your account. If you do not log in, your search will only be saved in that session and if you close the window, the saved search will no longer be saved.
Discovery offers several tools that results can be exported too. We recommend using Zotero or Endnote as citation management tools. You can learn more about them here: Endnote or Zotero.
If you use the Library Catalog you can limit the search by Book or eBook.
When searching in Discovery you have a couple options. You can either select Databases that are labeled as eBook collections. Or select Books/eBooks and then select Full Text Online to search just ebooks
The best browsers to use with Discovery are Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge and Mozilla Firefox.