LibGuides: English: Home

How to Navigate this Research Guide

Welcome to the English Research Guide! Here you will find a collection of resources and jumping off points for conducting English and literature research. If you need help, head to the Goddard Library Online Help button for FAQs and to get in touch with a librarian.

Best Bet Databases

Here are some databases that are "best bets" for English research. We recommend them because they include journals, periodicals, ebooks, and reference sources on a wide variety of English and literature topics.

MLA Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to articles, books, dissertations on worldwide literature.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium.

Goddard Library Guidance!

To learn more about these databases and how to access others, check out the Which databases should I use? page on this research guide.

English Department at Clark

Learn more about English at Clark on the English Department homepage.

Find faculty and student research conducted at Clark on the Digital Commons:

Digital Commons
Clark University Digital Commons is an online depository that provides long-term access to the diverse array of scholarly, professional, scientific, and creative output produced or housed at Clark University.