LibGuides: Chemistry: Home

How to Navigate this Research Guide

Welcome to the Chemistry Research Guide! Here you will find a collection of resources and jumping off points for conducting chemistry research. If you need help, head to the Goddard Library Online Help button for FAQs and to get in touch with a librarian.

Best Bet Databases

Here are some databases that are "best bets" for chemistry research. We recommend them because they include journals, periodicals, ebooks, and reference sources on a wide variety of chemistry topics.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive, source-neutral abstract and citation database curated by independent subject matter experts. It places powerful discovery and analytics tools in the hands of researchers, librarians, institutional research managers and funders. Scopus powers better decision-making with curated, complete and connected data.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Covers primary literature of all areas of chemistry, medicine, and other areas.
Users who have created an account with the original SciFinder can use those credentials with SciFinder-n.
First-time users must register for an account from an on-campus connection (not remote) using their Clark University email address via this registration page.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1,145 titles—with more than 965 available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature.
CAMEO Chemicals This link opens in a new window
CAMEO Chemicals is a database of chemicals and their hazards produced by the NOAA. It includes "thousands of datasheets containing response-related information and recommendations for hazardous materials that are commonly transported, used, or stored in the United States Convenient access to all of the response datasheets and the reactivity prediction tool.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.

Goddard Library Guidance

To learn more about these databases and how to access others, check out the Which databases should I use? page on this research guide.

Chemistry at Clark

Learn more about Chemistry at Clark on the Gustaf H Carlson homepage:

Gustaf H Carlson School of Chemistry
The Gustaf H. Carlson School of Chemistry is a small, close-knit, friendly community of researchers. Faculty, graduate students, and undergraduates work closely together, investigating the properties of materials ranging from molecular structures and nanoparticles to DNA and high-performance carbon fiber composites.

Find faculty and student research conducted at Clark on the Digital Commons:

Digital Commons
Clark University Digital Commons is an online depository that provides long-term access to the diverse array of scholarly, professional, scientific, and creative output produced or housed at Clark University.