LibGuides: History: Home

How to Navigate this Research Guide

Welcome to the History Research Guide! Here you will find a collection of resources and jumping off points for conducting history research. If you need help, head to the Goddard Library Online Help button for FAQs and to get in touch with a librarian.

Best Bet Databases

Here are some databases that are "best bets" for history research. We recommend them because they include journals, periodicals, ebooks, and reference sources on a wide variety of history topics.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Serach journals, ebooks, images and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, economics, mathematics, and language and literature.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Over 400 full text scholarly journals in the fields of the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to material on world history, excluding the U.S. and Canada, after 1450 A.D.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database, much in full text, covering 2,000 journals, as well as books and reference sources in the humanities.

Goddard Library Guidance

To learn more about these databases and how to access others, check out the Which databases should I use? page on this research guide.

History at Clark

Learn more about History at Clark on the Department of History homepage:

Department of History
Studying history enables us to understand how the society in which we live, and many others, came to be. Why does this matter? It provides us with a deeper understanding of ourselves and others necessary for impactful engagement in the world. Studying history also allows you to develop important research, writing, and critical thinking skills that remain in high demand by employers. Plus, studying history is fun!

Find faculty and student research conducted at Clark on the Digital Commons:

Digital Commons
Clark University Digital Commons is an online depository that provides long-term access to the diverse array of scholarly, professional, scientific, and creative output produced or housed at Clark University.