Environmental Science 1970: Sustainability and the Sacred

Provides a complete guide to the core definitions and issues associated with pure and applied ecology.

Where Does The environment leave off and society begin? If the major crises and curiosities of the early 21st century are any indication, it would be foolish to attempt to demark any such boundary. When expanding production and consumption drives greenhouse gas emissions that warm the planet...

Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.

The ESRM provides information about nearly all types of survey methods and survey errors. The more than 600 entries in the encyclopedia fall out across the following categories: Ethics, Measurement, Nonresponse, Sampling, Coverage, and Weighting and more

The essential reference source to enable all those with an interest in the politics of the environment to explore topics in international environmental politics.

Contains complete, up-to-date definitions for all areas of science and technology. The definitions are clear and accessible to the nonspecialist, yet they provide all the technical information that the specialist needs. Entries range from large general...

Includes in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental protection and resource management.

Water, and particularly the lack of it in clean, available and reliable form, has become a major environmental issue worldwide. In addition the fresh, brackish and salt-water components of inland waters form a fascinating and integral part of catchments or watershed-ecosystems, draining ultimately to the sea and contributing overall to ecosystem function, biodiversity and the natural resource base. Clearly a comprehensive summary of up-to-date and accurate information on the Earth's inland waters is a highly valuable resource of critical information for scientists, students, managers and decision makers...

Concise articles covering more than 90 disciplines of science and technology. Includes coverage of the hottest areas of science and technology, including biomedical science, chemistry, cosmology, information science, environmental science, nanotechnology.

An authoritative and richly illustrated guide to the many facets of the world's oceans and seas. The first five sections describe the genesis and evolution of the oceans, the history of exploration, leisure on the oceans, sealife, and ocean ...

A concise, authoritative reference to ecology's major subjects and key concepts.

This work is a unique introductory A-Z resource detailing the scientific achievements of the contemporary world and analyzing the key scientific trends, discoveries, and personalities of the modern age.