LibGuides: Environmental Science 1970: Sustainability and the Sacred: Finding Articles

Databases

Academic Onefile This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary scholarly article database. Many articles are full text.
AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics This link opens in a new window
A free, searchable, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
An index to the agricultural literature

ProQuest Biological Sciences Database
Comprehensive database covering the literature of the biological science.
EconLit with Full Text
Journal, books, and working papers on economics

EconPapers This link opens in a new window
358,377 searchable economics working papers, articles and software items with 258,346 items available on-line.
Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy, Third Edition This link opens in a new window
Documents the latest trends in public administration, public policy, policy analysis, public finance, management, social psychology, political science, econo

Energy Citations Database
U.S. DOE database. Coverage: 1948 to present
Environmental Health Legislation Database
Includes state legislation on topics such as asthma, mercury, lead poisoning, pesticides and indoor air quality.
Environmental Health Statutes Database
A database of state environmental statutes.
Environmental Science Collection
Coverage of the environmental sciences

GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
Human Geography – 25%
Environmental Sciences – 23%
Physical Geography – 22%
Geology – 20%
Oceanography – 8%
Geomechanics – 2%

Google Scholar - Advanced Scholar Search
GreenFILE
A database of articles, documents, and reports on human effect on the environment
Health Reference Center - Academic
Index the health and medical literature. FULLTEXT.

Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database, much in full text, covering 2,000 journals, as well as books and reference sources in the humanities.

NBER Working Papers
From the National Bureau of Economic Research. Over 700 papers published annually

Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Policy File Index is a unique resource for U.S. public policy research. Users are able to access timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. Over 75 public policy topics are covered, from foreign policy to domestic policy.
Population Index This link opens in a new window
Index to articles in field of population studies and demography. Covers 1986-1999

PubMed
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
Social Sciences Abstracts
Journal articles in the social sciences
TOXNET
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
International political science and international relations - journal articles, books, dissertations and working papers
WorldWideScience.org
A global science gateway enabling federated searching of national and international scientific databases
Other Clark University Databases
Use the library’s collection of more than 80 databases to search for journals article citations, statistical data, and full-text resources.

Ranking and Mapping Scientific Knowledge

eigenfactor
Ranks journals according to influence/impact. Type "environmental sciences" in the discipline search box and see if you recognize any of the 179 journal titles.

Full Text??

Clink guides you to the full text of articles, if Clark has the full text.

If this is what you know...
here is where you go:

You have a citation...
you know the name of the journal...
you have information about an article...
your faculty member has told you about an article you should look up...

The Kasperson library has many print journals that are not listed in Clink. Use this link if your article has anything to do with the environment.

Using Google Scholar to Find Cited References

One of the most valuable features of Google Scholar is the ability to track who has cited a previous work of scholarship. Once you find an article that you want to read, you'll see a link "Cited By" which will show you a list of works that cited this article. Related articles are also a valuable link.

Peer Reviewed Journals

Credit: Nick Kim.