IDCE 360 : Development Theory

International Labour Office database on labour statistics operated by the ILO Bureau of Statistics

various U.S. Government agencies' statistics

The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations that leads international efforts to defeat hunger.

Since its inception in 1972, the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) has been the global authority that sets the environmental agenda, promotes the coherent implementation of the environmental dimension of sustainable development within the UN system and serves as an authoritative advocate for the global environment.

Migration, both within and beyond borders, is a prominent theme in domestic and international debates, and is the topic of the 2009 HDR. The starting point is that the global distribution of capabilities is extraordinarily unequal, and that this is a major driver for movement of people.

When IDS was established in 1966, it was one of the first institutes of its kind. Now there are many more development research organisations and think tanks, both in the North and, increasingly, in the South. However, IDS remains distinctive in its commitment and approach to development.

Global population trends, links to historical population estimates, population clocks, and estimates of population, births, and deaths occurring each year, day, hour, or second.

Online databases on aid and other resource flows

The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) is affiliated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) at the University of Texas at Austin. LANIC has received funding from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the Ford Foundation, and UT Austin's College of Liberal Arts. LANIC is a key component of the International Information Systems, also based at UT Austin.

ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.

The Population Reference Bureau informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empowers them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations.

"Social Indicators of Development" contains the World Bank's most detailed data collection for assessing human welfare to provide a picture of the social effects of economic development. Data are presented for over 170 economies, omitting only those for which data are inadequate.

A guide to population information on UN system web sites

The WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS) has been incorporated into the Global Health Observatory (GHO) to provide you with more data, more tools, more analysis and more reports.

The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Our mission is to fight poverty with passion and professionalism for lasting results and to help people help themselves and their environment by providing resources, sharing knowledge, building capacity and forging partnerships in the public and private sectors.

The Population Division of the United Nations is responsible for monitoring and appraisal of the broad range of areas in the field of population.

The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

Hoover's Online® is an electronic database that provides company profiles, rankings, and other corporate-related information. Both U.S. and international companies are profiled with information available on millions of companies.

U.S. Company's Security and Exchange Commission filings