There are a lot of databases available, so it can be difficult to decide which one to use for your research. The ones on this page have been curated for languages, literature & culture. See the bottom of the page for the link to the full list of databases.
You can also check out the Best Bets box on the Home page.
JSTOR has a large curated collection of languages, literature & culture resources, covering a wide range of topics and perspectives. You will find articles published from the 20th century to the present.
Project Muse provides a curated database of scholarly journals and books for humanities research. The collection includes sources from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
MLA Bibliography covers subjects such as world languages and literatures, linguistics, dramatics arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, teaching of language, and history of publishing. With the inclusion of scholarly journals published in more than 70 languages, it is a good source for research in areas such as history, philosophy, communications and cross-disciplinary subjects such as gender studies and area studies.
Looking for an in-depth source on a literature, language or culture subject? Try searching in Ebook Central which has a large collection of ebooks including in topics such as literature and language. These titles can be downloaded and read offline and with the "search within the text" features it can be easy to find a chapter relevant to your research.
Check out the full list of databases on the A-Z database page.
To view other databases available, specifically for languages, literature & culture resources, you can search the A-Z Database list either by selecting Language & Literature from the Subjects list (on the left) or searching for "Language" OR "Literature" in the search box (on the right).
