LibGuides: News Sources: Newspapers and Databases

Newspapers and News Sources

New York Times (1980 - current) This link opens in a new window
Access to the text-only version of the New York Times. Updated daily. Coverage back to 1980.
New York Times Historical Archive (1851 - 2019) This link opens in a new window
Full text and full image database of the New York Times archives spanning 1851 - 2013
Northeast Regional Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 40 regional and national newspapers, including Boston Globe, NYT, among others.
Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
Boston Globe Historical Archive (1872 - 1991) This link opens in a new window
Full text and full image archive.
Wall Street Journal Online This link opens in a new window
Full text access to the Wall Street Journal. Updated daily.
Wall Street Journal Historical Archive (1889-2011) This link opens in a new window
Full image access to the historical archive of the Wall Street Journal.
Washington Post Historical Archive (1877-2007) This link opens in a new window
Full-text historical coverage.
Telegram & Gazette (Worcester, MA) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage from Jan 16, 1989 to the present.

Databases

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources.
Infotrac Newsstand This link opens in a new window
InfoTrac Newsstand is an innovative web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. A one-stop source for the day's news and searchable archives. With InfoTrac Newsstand, you can search a collection of thousands of national, international, state and local newspapers.
Gale Primary Resources: Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.

Goddard Library Online Help

————————————————————

On this page you will:

Find answers to frequently asked questions
Get research help from a librarian by phone, chat, email or research consultation
Book a study room

New York Times Online

Every Clark University student, faculty and staff member now has free access to The New York Times website. A joint effort of the Undergraduate Student Government and the Clark University Libraries has resulted in a subscription to a New York Times Group Pass that gives Clark users full access to the content on the NYTimes.com website. Mobile apps are available.

Learn more about how to get access on the New York Times Guide.

Spanish-Language Newspapers Published in U.S.

El Especial
New York/New Jersey
El Diario
New York
El Pregonero
Washington D.C.
La Raza
Chicago
La Opinión
Los Angeles
El Sentinel
Orlando

Additional Spanish-language newspapers can be found through LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)

Chinese-Language Newspapers Published in U.S.

The China Press
MIng-Pao Daily
Sing Tao Daily (US edition)
World Journal
Sampan
"The only bilingual Chinese-English Newspaper in New England"
The Epoch Times

Newspaper sources were partly compiled from the report "Immigration Coverage in Chinese-Language Newspapers" published by the Opportunity Agenda, 2008.