Skip to Main Content

Art History 124 - Italian Art from Giotto to Botticelli

Investigates painting, sculpture and architecture in their cultural and historical contexts from the trecento (1300s) to the late quattrocento (1400s), with a focus on Tuscany and its flourishing capital, Florence.

Primary Sources

Borromini’s book : the "full relation of the building" of the Roman Oratory
NA 1123 .B6 B67 2009
The civilization of the Italian Renaissance : a sourcebook
DG 445 .C57 2011
A Documentary history of art
N 5303 .D6 1981
A documentary history of art, vol. 2
N 5303 H762 1957
The Italian Renaissance : the essential sources
DG 445 .I79 2004
Letters
N6923 B9 A23
Michelangelo's Letters
Literary sources of art history; an anthology of texts from Theophilus to Goethe
N5303 H763
The lives of the artists
N 6922 .V2213 1998
Love and death in Renaissance Italy
DG 445 .C64 2004
Northern Renaissance art, 1400-1600; sources and documents.
N 6370 S8
On the rationalization of sight, with an examination of three Renaissance texts on perspective
NC749 I94
Renaissance art reconsidered : an anthology of primary sources
N 6370 .R375 2007
Venice and Vitruvius : reading Venice with Daniele Barbaro and Andrea Palladio
NA 1121 .V4 D48 2012

Electronic Primary Sources

Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 398 billion archived web pages.

Goddard Special Collections

The first Decennale. A facsim. of the 1st ed. of February, 1506.
A facsimile of the 1st ed. of February, 1506.
La prima [-seconda] parte delle Historie vniversali de svoi tempi
Special Collections DG 737 .A2 V4 1559
Edition of 1559.
Storie Fiorentine Tom. II
Special Collections DG 737.25 .V5 1581a
Edition of 1581.
Istorie di Matteo Villani cittadino fiorentino, Che continua quelle di Giouanni suo fratello. Con l’aggiunta di Filippo suo figliuolo, che arriuano sino all’ anno 1364.
Special Collections DG 737 A2 V.4
Edition of 1581.
Delle historia di Matteo Villani ... li tre vltimi libri. Che son’il resto dell’istoria scritta da lui, che nelli stampati sino ad’hora mancano.
Special Collections DG 731.25 V4
Edition of 1596.
The works of the famous Nicolas Machiavel, citizen and secretary of Florence.
Special Collections DG 731.5 M31
Edition of 1675.
Gli Uffizi : catalogo generale.
Special Collections N2570 A75

Goddard Library, Archives and Special Collections

Archives and Special Collections
Hours: Monday, Wednesday, Thursday 9:30am-4pm and by appointment.
Fordyce Williams is the Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections. Her phone number is 508-793-7206 and her email is fwilliams@clarku.edu.