Data Sources - WGS 110 - Introduction to Women's and Gender Studies

Data

Human Development Reports, 1990-

Social Data:

Fedstats -- various U.S. Government agencies' statistics
Statistical Abstract of the United States -- current and earlier editions back to 1995.
U.S. Bureau of Census - American FactFinder
U.S. Bureau of Census - Data Access Tools - create maps, use gazeteers, etc.
World Development Indicators: more than 700 development indicators, with time series for 207 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to the present, where data are available.
World Data Analyst: country snapshots, statistical data and comparisons, and ranked statistics.
County and City Data Book 2000 and 2007
Purchasing Power of Money in the United States from 1774 to Present
Bureau of Labor Statistics Data
UnionStats.com -- Union Membership and Coverage Database from the CPS (Current Population Survey)
Occupational Outlook Handbook 2000-20001
IPUMS-USA -- The Integrated Public Use Microdata Sample USA project provides access to microdata samples of the American population drawn from federal censuses of population and housing
Worcester Community Indicators -- U.S. Census data by tract (from Clark University!)
Historical U.S. Census Data Browser -- 1790 to 1960
General Social Survey -- The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Results available in SPSS format.
ChildStats.gov -- access to statistics and reports on children and their families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education.
TranStats: The Intermodal Transportation Database (from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics)
Data Archive from the Pew Research Center for the People and the Press Survey data are released six months after the reports are issued and are posted on the web as quickly as possible.
ICPSR -- search and browse for data

World Population Data:

Penn World Table
The Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 189 countries/territories for some or all of the years 1950-2009. The European Union or the OECD provide more detailed purchasing power and real product estimates for their countries and the World Bank makes current price estimates for most PWT countries at the GDP level.