Finding Articles - Art History 125 - Art in the Age of Michelangelo

Find Articles

Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of more than 250 periodicals and 150 books, and cover-to- cover indexing or more than 630 academic journals.
Academic Onefile This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary scholarly article database. Many articles are full text.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to material on world history, excluding the U.S. and Canada, after 1450 A.D.

Humanities International Complete
Articles in all fields of the humanities, include reviews of books, plays, etc.

Humanities and Social Science Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes the most important scholarly English language journals of the twentieth century. Coverage: 1907 - 1984
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Serach journals, ebooks, images and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, economics, mathematics, and language and literature.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Over 400 full text scholarly journals in the fields of the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Readers' Guide Historical Retrospective
Indexing of the most popular general interest periodicals published in the United States. Coverage: 1890-1982.
All Clark Databases
Alphabetical listing of databases available at Clark.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Clark owned resources will be accessible on the right-hand side.

Points to remember for Google Scholar:

Very effective at searching for specific articles, as well as different versions, "cited by" links, and related articles.
Very little curation of materials. Results tend to lean scholarly, but searches can vary widely.
Effective searching calls for both precision and recall. Googe Scholar is very effective for recall.

Google Scholar Advanced Search
Scholarly/academic sources. Useful for citation searching.