Finding Articles - Biology 119 - Herpetology - LibGuides at Clark University

Databases

ProQuest Biological Sciences Database
Comprehensive database covering the literature of the biological science.

Academic Onefile This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary scholarly article database. Many articles are full text.

Environmental Science Collection
Coverage of the environmental sciences.

GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
Human Geography – 25%
Environmental Sciences – 23%
Physical Geography – 22%
Geology – 20%
Oceanography – 8%
Geomechanics – 2%

GreenFILE
A database of articles, documents, and reports on human effect on the environment.
PubMed
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.

science.gov This link opens in a new window
U.S. government science and technology databases

TOXNET
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
WorldWideScience.org
A global science gateway enabling federated searching of national and international scientific databases.
Journal locator
When you know the name of the journal, this will help you determine whether or not Clark has full text access.
Other Clark University Databases
Use the library’s collection of more than 80 databases to search for journals article citations, statistical data, and full-text resources.

Google Scholar can help to Find Cited References

One of the most valuable features of Google Scholar is the ability to track who has cited a previous work of scholarship. Once you find an article that you want to read, you'll see a link "Cited By" which will show you a list of works that cited this article.

Full Text??

Journal Locator
Guides you to the full text of articles,
Online or if in one of Clark's Libraries

CNAH PDF Library
Articles from CNAH collection. Titles added to this list will generally be those that deal with the North American (north of Mexico) herpetofauna.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Advanced Search
Scholarly/academic sources. Useful for citation searching.

Open Access Journals

DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages

DOAJ