LibGuides: Management 4800: CEO: Strategic Decision Making: Company and Industry Information

Company and Industry Information

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM contains a broad array of business information, from scholarly journals and dissertations, to company, industry and market focused trade news.
Hoover's FirstResearch This link opens in a new window
Hoover's First Research provides industry profiles to help marketers, business owners, job seekers and researchers. It profiles 900 Industry Segments, updated constantly with monthly statistics and indicators as well as quarterly trend updates.
Hoover's Online This link opens in a new window
Hoover's Online® is an electronic database that provides company profiles, rankings, and other corporate-related information. Both U.S. and international companies are profiled with information available on millions of companies.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld Industry Reports cover over 700 industries in the United States as categorized by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect offers an opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online provides business and financial information for over 23,000 U.S. and international companies. 30 years of historical stock prices are available. SEC filings (real-time and archived to 1993)
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. The primary area of focus is on companies with at least $10 Million in annual revenue.

PrivCo requires that users create an account in order to use the database. Please use your @clarku.edu email address.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on more than 600 industries. In addition to tables and charts, Statista also provides infographics and studies on selected industries and topics.

Value Line Investment Survey Online
Provides comprehensive reference and useful information for virtually every investor. Covers some 1,700 equity issues. Every week, about 135 stocks in seven or eight industries are covered.

Governmental and International Considerations

EDGAR: U.S. Company Reports
SEC information
Export.gov
the U.S. Government Export Portal : contain information on the business and economic situation of foreign countries and the political climate as it affects U.S. business (free registration required for access to some data)..
U.S. Department of State - Doing Business in International Markets
The Office of Commercial and Business Affairs (CBA) plays a major role in coordinating trade and investment matters in support of U.S. firms doing business overseas. Our mission is to ensure that private sector business concerns are fully integrated into U.S. foreign and economic policy, and engages U.S. government resources to assist and promote U.S. business interests overseas.
U.S. Department of State - Trade Policy and Programs
Trade Policy and Programs (TPP) advances U.S. trade policy objectives by opening new export opportunities for American businesses, farmers, ranchers and workers through global, regional and bilateral trade initiatives - including free trade agreements (FTAs) and the World Trade Organization (WTO) Doha Development Agenda. In partnership with agencies across the federal government, the more than 50 TPP professionals and staff work to maximize the benefits of open markets for global economic ...
World Economic Outlook Databases
Macroeconomic data from 1980 to the present

Maps and Census Data

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a U.S. national data and mapping tool that combines a curated, comprehensive geographic data library with simple, robust mapping and analytics tools. University faculty, researchers, and students use it to create compelling maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports, and upload your own data to view it with ours.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Allows user to visually analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports from 1790 to the present. Also includes the 2011 censuses for Canada and the United Kingdom.