HIST 225/325 - Blacks & Reds: African Americans, Socialists, and Communists in the 20th Century

From the Marxists Internet Archive: "This page has seperate sections relating specifically to information on the Black Panther Party and their revolutionary struggle to overturn the U.S. system of racial and working class oppression, and the Civil Rights Movement; and the many analyses by Marxist organization on the “Black Question”. Links to various sections of the MIA are provided that go to a myriad of organizations and journals reflecting their involvement in Black Liberation"

From the National Archives African American Heritage collection

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public. I have limited the search to Worcester history.

The Digital Public Library of America empowers people to learn, grow, and contribute to a diverse and better-functioning society. We do this by maximizing public access to our shared history, culture, and knowledge.

The Civil Rights Digital Library Initiative represents one of the most ambitious and comprehensive efforts to date to deliver educational content on the Civil Rights Movement via the Web.

This project produces and displays free interactive maps showing the historical geography of dozens of social movements that have influenced American life and politics since the late 19th century, including radical movements, civil rights movements, labor movements, women's movements, and more.

The Dodge Revolutionary Union Movement was formed in May, 1968 at the Chrysler Dodge Main Plant in Hamtramck, Michigan. Among those active in its founding were General Baker, Mike Hamlin, John Watson, Ron March, Luke S. Tripp, Jr., Kenneth Cockrel, John Williams and Charles J. Wooten.
The collection has multiple parts. Part one primarily covers the Dodge Revolutionary Union Movement (DRUM) and the League of Revolutionary Black Workers (LRBW). Part two primarily covers the Communist Labor Party.

Selection of documents from the archives of the Communist International (Comintern) pertaining to its Negro Commission, the African Blood Brotherhood (ABB), and to "Negro work" in the United States.

The Communist Party of the United States was founded in 1919 and it played an important role in defending the civil rights of African Americans during the height of its popularity in the 1930s and 40s. The African American Communist Party pamphlet collection contains 53 pamphlets created between 1928 and 1974 by the Communist Party of the United States of America. Held at the University of Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections

The Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives collects material in all formats documenting the history of labor, the Left, political radicalism, and social movements in the United States, with particular strengths in communism, anarchism, and socialism. It is also the repository for the Archives of Irish America and the Abraham Lincoln Brigade Archives

Official record in the National Archives Catalog

Provides links to full-text documents and records kept in HathiTrust and the Internet Archive.