Web Resources - Art History 159 - Latin American Art

Timelines, Collections etc.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
A digital library of images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Users can search for or browse images by creator, time period, genre, type of work (e.g., sculpture, jewelry, architectural drawing), or by region where created. Artstor images are contributed by museums, libraries, and universities worldwide and are intended for educational use.
On first login from off-campus, you will be prompted to link or create an Artstor personal account, which is required in order to download images.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History - Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is funded by the Heilbrunn Foundation, New Tamarind Foundation, and Zodiac Fund. The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection.
FAMSI - Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc.
The Foundation (FAMSI) was created in 1993 to foster increased understanding of ancient Mesoamerican cultures. The Foundation aims to assist and promote qualified scholars who might otherwise be unable to undertake or complete their programs of research and synthesis. Projects in the following disciplines are urged to apply: anthropology, archaeology, art history, epigraphy, ethnography, ethnohistory, linguistics, and related fields.
Precolumbian Art and Art History - University of Texas
University of Texas portal to other sites dedicated to Precolumbian art and architecture.
WorldImages Kiosk
The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It has just been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.
World History Sources - George Mason University - PreColumbian Portfolio
This photographic database presents artifacts and buildings of pre-Columbian cultures in Central and South America. Unless otherwise indicated, all photographs were taken by the database’s architect, Justin Kerr, a fine arts photographer.
World History Sources - George Mason University - Mesoamerican Photo Archies
This website, created by David R. Hixson, a graduate student in anthropology at Tulane University, provides 100 photographs and information about 11 archaeological sites in Mexico.
Mesoweb
Mesoweb is devoted to the ancient cultures of Mexico and adjacent Central America, including the Olmec, Zapotec, Mixtec, Teotihuacan, Toltec, Aztec, and Maya (reserving the word Mayan for the language and the word Maya for the people and their culture).
Maya Skies Chichen Itza
3D documentation by the Institute for the Study and Integration of Graphical Heritage Techniques (INSIGHT)
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA)
About RILA and BHA
RILA covers the years 1975–1989. It was produced at the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute, and Michael Rinehart was the editor-in-chief. In 1982, Getty began to support RILA, and in 1990 the Getty began to collaborate with INIST-CNRS to produce the BHA, which was a merger of RILA and the Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie.
From the Getty Research Institute.
Museo de America, Madrid.
The American Museum brings extensive collections from the different cultures in the Americas.

Local Information

Worcester Art Museum
Selected Works from WAM, including American, Ancient, Asian, European and Precolumbian art samples.
Bridges to Art
This website provides educators and scholars access to images from the Worcester Art Museum's collection of fifty centuries of art from around the world.

Online Museum Galleries

Hispanic Society of America

The Hispanic Society of America
The collections of the Hispanic Society are unparalleled in their scope and quality outside the Iberian Peninsula, addressing nearly every aspect of culture in Spain, as well as a large part of Portugal and Latin America.