From the website: Comprising over 21 million people, Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders are the fastest-growing ethnic group in the U.S. electorate. This guide provides research strategies and pointers to materials available both at the Library of Congress and online.
Asian American and Pacific Islander Studies
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Proquest Diversity Collection, with access through Clark University
Goddard Library is proud to offer ProQuest's Diversity Collection, which contains three separate but cross-searchable collections: Ethnic NewsWatch, Alt-PressWatch, and GenderWatch. This collection focuses on ethnic, minority, and native presses, grassroots newspapers and magazines, journals, news and newsletters focusing on gender and sexuality. Ethnic NewsWatch would be a great database to utilize for any research concerning indigenous populations both here and around the world. Many of the journals above can be accessed through this collection!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Below are some ways to feature research tools and the way we at the library can assist researchers. If you are searching using the Discovery search bar on the library website, searching certain subjects will bring up a research stater at the head of the page. These can be useful for students exploring a subject.
Research Starters within the Library's Discovery Sources:
Abstract from the guide: "George Hall was arrested and convicted for the 1853 murder of a Chinese immigrant miner in Nevada County, California. The Chinese immigrants who witnessed the murder provided the essential testimony that led to Hall’s conviction. However, Hall appealed the court’s decision, claiming that a Chinese immigrant should not be able to testify against a white man and citing a law that denied black individuals and Indians the right to testify. The case ultimately ended up in the California Supreme Court, where the justices were asked not only to consider the original intent of the law as it applied to Chinese immigrants but also, by default, to deliberate on the status of Chinese immigrants as members of American society. Chief Justice Hugh Murray delivered the majority opinion of the court, which concluded that Chinese immigrants were not entitled to the same rights and privileges as white people and therefore did not have the right to testify against a white man in court."
Abstract from the guide: "Delano, California, a small grape vineyard community of about eleven thousand in the southern San Joaquin Valley, was the scene of a historic farmworkers’ strike. The strike began on September 8, 1965, when farmworkers walked off the fields, protesting low wages and poor working conditions; it ended on July 29, 1970. This strike was coordinated by César Chávez and the National Farm Workers Association (NFWA). Half the world’s table grapes were produced in the Delano area, which thus attracted thousands of vineyard workers."
Abstract from the guide: "Chinese-born draftsman, Vincent Chin was a Chinese American draftsman who was brutally killed in Detroit in 1982 by white autoworkers. The workers, enraged about the downturn in the American auto industry, mistook Chin for a Japanese man. After a circuit judge handed down a lenient sentence for his murderers, Chin’s death became a rallying point and symbol of the pan–Asian American civil rights movement."
Abstract from the guide: "On February 10, 1875, California congressman Horace F. Page introduced federal legislation designed to prohibit the immigration of female Asian prostitutes into the United States. Passed by Congress on March 3 as “An Act Supplementary to the Acts in Relation to Immigration,” the Page law evolved into a more general restriction against vast numbers of Chinese immigrants into the country, whether they were prostitutes or not. It subjected any person convicted of importing Chinese prostitutes to a maximum prison term of five years and a fine of not more than five thousand dollars."
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
| Today there are more than 300,000 living Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander American veterans. The Library of Congress's Veteran's History Project honors those veterans who have shared their stories, veterans such as Kurt Chew-Een Lee, Jaden Kim, Kenje Ogata, Maginia Sajise Morales, Peter Young and Veasna Rouen. The digital collection Asian Pacific Americans: Going for Broke highlights additional stories from World War II, Korea, Vietnam, and Iraq. (Library of Congress) Learn more here! |
The National Archives holds a wealth of material documenting the Asian and Pacific Islander's experience, and highlights these resources online, in programs, and through traditional and social media.