Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Indigenous Peoples of the United States

This guide will serve as a introduction for any student interested in the history and culture of the native peoples in the United States.

Relevant Journals

American Indian Quarterly : A refereed interdisciplinary journal of the history, anthropology, literature and the arts of Native American Indians, book reviews and lists of recently published books. Published by the University of Nebraska Press. Full Text access through ProQuest Diversity Collection

NAIS: Journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association - From the University of Minnesota Press website: "As the journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association, Native American and Indigenous Studies (NAIS) is based in North America but seeks to bridge the distances across the Indigenous world. The editors of NAIS are committed to creating a dynamic intellectual space for the communication and dissemination of excellent scholarship related to Indigenous Studies." Full Text access.

First People's Child and Family Review - From the website: "The First Peoples Child & Family Review is an open-access, interdisciplinary, and peer-reviewed journal honouring the voices and perspectives of First peoples and non-Indigenous allies and supporters. Our mission is to promote research, critical analysis, stories, standpoints, and educational resources which advance innovation within child, family, and community based-matters for First Nations, Métis, and Inuit, as well as Indigenous peoples abroad." 

Studies in American Indian Literatures - From the University of Nebraska Press website: "Studies in American Indian Literatures (SAIL) is the only journal in the United States that focuses exclusively on American Indian literatures... SAIL defines "literatures" broadly to include all written, spoken, and visual texts created by Native peoples." Full Text access through ProQuest Diversity Collection

Databases

Goddard Library is proud to offer ProQuest's Diversity Collection, which contains three separate but cross-searchable collections: Ethnic NewsWatch, Alt-PressWatch, and GenderWatch. This collection focuses on ethnic, minority, and native presses, grassroots newspapers and magazines, and journals, news and newsletters focusing on gender and sexuality. Ethnic NewsWatch would be a great database to utilize for any research concerning indigenous populations both here and around the world. Many of the journals above can accessed through this collection!